24 hours water fasting


I’m doing water fasting today. I will do it for 24 hours. I started last night at 10pm, I will break my fast tonight at 10pm.

Fasting is not a new thing for me. I’m a Muslim. I always fast during Ramadan since I was 10 years old. The way Muslim fast is by not eat and drink from sunrise to sundown. In Ramadan we should do it for a month. We can also fast in months other than Ramadan, it’s optional. But why this time I’m choosing water fasting? Well, my doctor advised me to do water fasting to help my healing from Adenomyosis once a week. I started last month. I think there is slight improvement with the symptoms.

On my last ovulation day I was fasting. I usually experience cramps and back pain on that day, but when I was fasting,  those symptoms were gone. So I wanted to give this fasting regime more shots!

Yesterday (day 6 before my next period) I started to feel slight back pain and lower abdomen discomfort. It’s a bad news for me. That’s why I decided to fast today, to relieve those symptoms and hopefully my body reduce the inflammation inside my uterus.

It’s almost noon. I feel a little bit weak and hungry. But other than that I feel fine. The slight back pain and lower abdomen discomfort has gone. I’ll give further update later 😊

9:30 pm

Total water taken: 2L

I broke my fast half an hour earlier than what I scheduled. I have to go to bed at 10:30pm. It’s not healthy to eat too close to bed time. So here’s my breaking meal… Mango and dragon fruit!


Start from tomorrow no more chips, wafers and other junk food. No more cheats!

5 thoughts on “24 hours water fasting

  1. It is really interesting! “my doctor advised me to do water fasting to help my healing from Adenomyosis once a week.” But, water is the most important thing to body health. Could you please explain me why the doctor adviced you water fasting?

    Like

    1. Uhm.. I think you got me wrong… Water fasting means that you can’t eat any food for certain period of time, you can only drink water. I did 24 hours fasting.. You can also do “intermittent fasting” just like what Muslims do. So basically you don’t eat food and drink water for about 16-20 hours. Muslims do it at day time. But you can do it differently, it will be easier for you to stop eat and drink after dinner time, and then start eating again at lunch time πŸ˜‰

      By doing fasting your body will have time to repair itself, including eat up abnormal cells and unnecessary growth (just like Adenomyosis). This process called Autophagy.

      https://www.google.com/amp/s/greatist.com/live/autophagy-fasting-exercise/amp
      http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/295914.php

      Like

    2. Fasting is still work in progress for me, I’m not sure how effective it is yet. I really hope it works πŸ™πŸΌπŸ™πŸΌπŸ™πŸΌ

      Like

  2. Hi Ellie;
    :))) sorry for misunderstanding. I know Ramadan fasting, I’m a muslim and fasting as well πŸ™‚ I thougth that you do not drink water all day for an alternatif treatment. Ok. I got it now. I think water fasting is like a detox. Sometimes I do different detox for body healing. I’ll try water fasting too. I hope it works for both of us. I’m praying for you and me and all women having Adenomyosis…
    Leyla

    Like

    1. Hi Leyla,

      It’s okay, the fasting name is kinda misleading πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† Yes, it’s just like detox! Btw, I’m happy to meet a Muslim sister here, I’m a Muslim too.

      I hope so, thank you for your prayer. Having Adenomyosis is hard for me, especially because of the longing pain. I’m trying to accept this condition, so I won’t be angry about it. Angers give me stress, and I know stress is not good for my body… it’s just like trying to break a demonic cycle πŸ˜†

      I might be crawling but I’m keep going…

      That’s my healing “mantra” to live with this condition. I will keep you in my prayers πŸ™πŸΌπŸ™πŸΌπŸ™πŸΌ

      Ellie

      Like

Leave a Reply

